NAKED GREG

Last week I talked about dressing up as one of the Pointer Sisters and singing I’m So Excited in a-cappella in front of over 150 people. That example is what we (in the personal growth profession) refer to as a stretch opportunity. A stretch opportunity is where you get to expand your comfort zone by essentially stepping out of it. It’s how personal growth happens.

Today I want to tell you about a different kind of stretch opportunity. As someone who is always looking for the latest and greatest innovative programs around the topic of authenticity, I recently came across a workshop that made even my hair (what’s left of it) stand on end. Psychologist Brad Blanton was holding a Radical Honesty seminar using tough love techniques to help people tell the truth. According to the promotional piece, people need to be comfortable with their own vulnerability in order to be able to be completely honest with themselves and with others.

So far so good, right? Not so fast…

On the third evening of this seminar, everyone is asked to get naked and take turns standing up in front of the whole group and talk about their bodies…what they are proud of, ashamed of, etc.

And here I thought having to cross-dress and sing was difficult!

The more I read about this radical seminar, the more I wanted to attend. I mean really, can you get more vulnerable that having to stand naked in front of a bunch of strangers! I think not! Unfortunately, the price of the seminar was just too much for me and the dates conflicted with a couple of television shows I wanted to see, etc., so I declined to go…Okay, I chickened out!

However…in an attempt to not disappoint you, I decided to do the next best thing. Last night I stood in front of my full-length mirror naked and drew myself. That’s right, I drew Naked Greg.

Click Here to see my drawing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

