Let’s Get Stoned!

I’m serious. I get stoned every day and I can’t begin to tell you how much it has helped me. In fact, I’d recommend we all get stoned together on regular basis.

Oh wait! Were you thinking I was talking about marijuana? No silly, I’m talking about engraved stones. Are you disappointed?

Allow me to explain.

I’ve been compiling a list of key words and phrases over the years that have had specific meaning to me (i.e., words like “Playful” and “Appreciation” or phrases like “Trust the Process”, etc.). Each word/phrase essentially represents a desired trait or way of being in how I choose to live my life.

Recently, I ran across a company called Stone Decorative (http://stonedecorative.com/).  This internet based company will engrave words/messages for you onto shiny, black stones. Can you see where I’m headed here? That’s right; I took all of my key words and phrases and had each one engraved onto a shiny stone (at last check I’m up to 16 different stones).

And here’s the fun part…

All of my stones sit in a little basket on top of my dresser.  Each morning as I get ready for the day, I’ll randomly select a stone from the basket. Let’s say for example that I pick out the stone with the word “Patience” on it. I’ll take a minute and reflect what being patient would look like, given the day I have ahead, and commit to being patient all day. Then, I’ll put the stone in my pocket and head out. I might add that it’s important to carry the stone with you all day since you’ll undoubtedly come across it and be reminded of its special meaning numerous times.

This daily ritual (and you know how I like rituals) has greatly helped me stay on-purpose and focused on the things that are most important to me. Plus it’s kind of fun. And yes, the stones will even survive the dreaded washing machine when accidentally left in a pocket.

So, the next time you are thinking about getting stoned, consider using the process described above. It will be a “high” that will last all day!

-Geese

  1. Thanks, Geese! I’m always looking for cool gifts and promos. I think you just solved my 2012 dilemma!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

