OVERCOMING ADVERSITY

Just when I think I’ve had my fair share of adversity in my life, I come across Laura Hillenbrand’s book, Unbroken, and quickly realize that what I deemed to be adversity doesn’t even come close to what Lieutenant Louis Zamperini experienced in this gripping true story. If you haven’t read Unbroken, you need to! It is one of the most incredible reads I’ve ever placed between my two hands. More importantly, the story demonstrates what it takes to overcome the most horrific adversity and human suffering that any one person can endure.

We all have our own stories to tell about adversity. Some of us have grown stronger as a result while others of us are still negatively impacted by a past experience (or two) that just won’t go away. It’s as if we have this heavy ball and chain dragging behind us wherever we go.

Although I don’t welcome adversity into my life, I do know that how each of us deals with it will determine whether or not we are able to grow from it or not. In fact, I would say that adversity shapes everything about us, be it character, openness, love, risk taking and even personality.

We have an exercise in the Leading From Within program on the first evening that really highlights the role adversity can play in our lives. Each participant shares with the group one or two defining moments from their lives that has greatly impacted who they are today. In facilitating this particular exercise for over 14 years, I can tell you that most of the defining moments that are shared come from an extremely difficult and challenging experience. In some cases the story is told as a lesson learned. In other cases the story is still as raw as if it just happened, complete with emotion and fear.

On today’s show (11/21) we have bestselling author, David Heenan, who will talk about adversity through the ten individuals who had to endure incredible odds and were able to snatch victory from the arms of defeat. His book, Bright Triumphs From Dark Hours, also reveals the six strategies we all need to overcome adversity. I can’t wait.

Join us, will you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

