My GPS is from Boulder…

When I need a GPS, I need a GPS.  I like to be told how to get from point A to point B in a concise manner.  The GPS I’ve been using is one of those portable devices from Garmin that even gives me a heads up when there is heavy traffic ahead.  How cool is that!

If you can’t tell, I like my GPS. I’ve even given it a name…Betty. Sure she’s not much of a conversationalist, but she gets me to my destinations. And in those “recalculating”  moments, she’s respectful and doesn’t raise her voice, unlike the previous GPS I had. Seriously, the first GPS I had seemed to have a deprecating tone of voice when I made a wrong turn or defied her directions.  Okay, maybe I’m projecting here just a little bit. Nevertheless, there are some human dimensions that we have with one-another that cross over into our relationship with our GPS…like trust, reliability, consistency, forgiveness, tone of voice, and even if the voice is female or male.

I know, you’re thinking I’ve gone off the deep end here…but I’m serious.

And then I bought my Honda hybrid with a built-in GPS and everything changed…

You see, I somehow made the assumption that a “built-in” factory GPS would be a step up from the off-the-shelf version. Wrong! The GPS in my hybrid (let’s call her Sara) is much more reserved and laid-back than my portable GPS. Why, if I didn’t know any better, I’d say she was from Boulder (joke). Case in point…I’m on a major highway with lots of traffic and I notice that up ahead the highway forks into two separate highways. Without panicing, I quickly glance over at Sara, fully expecting her to tell me which way to go…but nothing. Not even a mention. I look more closely at the moving map but it’s too late, I have to choose the left lane or the right lane.  I chose the right lane and it turns out to be the wrong choice. I look over at Sara in disdain. She avoids me. The word “recalculate” appear on the screen, but Sara can’t seem to say it out loud. I shake my head. Memories of a past relationship surface.

I know my GPS devices are simply that, devices. But that doesn’t negate the fact that I’m having a relationship problem right now with Sara. There are communication issues, trust issues, and I’ve just scratched the surface. And if Sara has an attitude now, imagine what will happen when she finds out about Betty!

This is all giving me a headache. Does anyone know of a good conflict mediator who specializes in human/GPS issues?

-Geese

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

