Why a “retainer” matters!

In the past couple of years I finally feel like I’m having an impact with the companies I’m working with.  Actually, it is with the companies that have put me on a retainer.  Allow me to explain…

Instead of coming into a company to provide a training class…or some kind of intervention…or a coaching session with a struggling manager, I now come in on a regular basis, hold office hours, and make myself available to all the employees for one-on-one coaching, group facilitation, team building, and whatever else I can assist with.  And more importantly, I’m making a difference.

Here’s why I’m a big fan of retainers:

  • Regularity breeds trust.
  • The best way to truly understand a corporate culture is by being in it.
  • The more I’m around, the more I can be of service.
  • Because I understand the culture, my opinions carry more weight.
  • And although I’m on retainer, I’m not an employee.  Hence, I can provide honest, objective, and direct feedback without having to worry about internal politics.

If you are a coach or consultant, you should consider proposing the retainer option for your clients.  It truely is a win-win.

-Geese

    • Arlene Marie Daniels
    • July 15th, 2011

    Wow, this makes a lot of sense. This way you won’t be a stranger, or a threat. In a book I read laltely [http://www.depressionatwork.com/] it says that you have to be trustworthy before anybody opens up to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

